Review: Secret Key Snail 97 Soothing Gel

There are sooo many soothing gels out there. But, the start of it all would be Nature Republic’s Aloe Vera 92% Soothing Gel (which is also my favorite soothing gel). After the hype of Nature Republic’s, various brands created their own soothing gels. Mostly they create the similar aloe vera soothing gel, but it’s not rare to see soothing gels with other key ingredients.

And now, I’m going to review a soothing gel with different key ingredient, snail mucin. This one comes from a korean brand, “Secret Key”. Does this product has a spot in my heart (or stash) like Nature Republic’s? Read my review below.

This is my third product review. I actually bought this product since January (January 18, to be exact) and I just finally got to review it now… I apologize for my laziness ~_~

Anyway, when I say there are sooo many soothing gels out there, I’m not kidding. The most mainstream ingredients would be aloe vera. But, there are other ingredients as well. I found bamboo, watermelon, cucumber, rose water, pomegranate, grapefruit… I should stop here. But, as I’ve said, the key ingredient of this product is “snail slime”.

“Snail slime? Eww! Gross!”

I bet that some of you would think that. But, the fact is, Korean beauty brands have been using snail slime (or what they like to call ‘extract’, which is basically the same) in their products. Products that contain snail slime have been a trend back then (and probably until now). Question is: why do they use snail slime?

According to my “research” (basically surfing around the Internet), snail slime has great effect for your skin. Snail slime contains hyaluronic acid and antioxidant, both are great as anti-aging and make your skin produce more collagen. It is also believed to have healing, soothing, and repairing properties. Besides, the products’ appearance aren’t gross like the real deal. So, from now on, don’t back down from any products that contain snail slime. Embrace them.

Now is the real deal, the product and the review.

20160630_051634
The appearance of Secret Key Snail 97 Soothing Gel (compared with the size of my hand)

Secret Key Snail 97 Soothing Gel is, like the name suggests, a soothing gel that comes from a Korean company, “Secret Key”. This product contains snail extract and claims to be calming and deliver moisture to your skin. This is suitable for all skin types. The product comes in a large, 300 grams, transparent, pink tub. The tub is very similar to Nature Republic’s Aloe Vera 92% Soothing Gel. There’s also a clear lid inside.

20160630_051617
The clear lid inside the tub to prevent the gel inside from spilling and contaminated

A bit of my rant here, my lid broke when my order arrived, even though it was covered with plastic and bubble wrap. Probably the courier didn’t handle the product pretty well. Good thing the product didn’t leak that much. This kind of thing didn’t happen when I order my Nature Republic’s soothing gel. So, even though the appearance of the tub is the same, the strength and thickness are not.

20160630_051555
The broken lid 😦

Actually when the product arrived, the broken part was not as worse at the one in the picture. But, with more usage, which means constant opening-and-closing the lid and also accidental drops, the lid became more broken.

Ingredients

Snail Secretion Filtrate, Glycerin, Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Hamamelis Virginiana Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Althea rosea, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Polysorbate 80, Carbomer, Triethanol amine, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance

CosDNA analysis here. Personally, as long as the product doesn’t contain paraben or any dangerous chemicals (such as mercury, etc), I don’t mind.

Performance

The product is a clear gel and has fresh, soft flowery scent. It is also watery and runny.

Left: The clear gel on the back of my hand | Right: After being smoothed on my skin

I use this product on my face as a moisturizer. Like other soothing gels, my skin absorbs this gel quite fast. Personally, this product is only a ‘meh’ to me.

It is, indeed, moisturizing and good as day moisturizer, like other soothing gels. But, unlike the aloe vera soothing gel, it still makes my face oily. I used it once for my irritated skin (from trying new facial wash), hoping it can help calm my skin. Unfortunately, it is not that effective at calming. When I use it daily, it also doesn’t help in calming my face by making my face less red.

Deep inside, I hope with the large amount of the claimed snail extract (97%!), this product can, in a way, repair any scars that I have. Alas, I have to be disappointed.

Edit (28/9/2016)

For those of you who wonder, I have also used this gel for body, hands, and legs. They are moisturizing and makes my skin smooth. BUT. I also get the same effect from using Nature Republic Aloe Vera 92% Soothing Gel. So, the smooth and moisturizing effect is nothing special.

Conclusion

This product doesn’t have a spot in my heart (or stash), like my all-time favorite Nature Republic Aloe Vera 92% Soothing Gel does. The price is more expensive, too. If you want light hydration, then this product can give it to you. But, for other effects, such as calming, it is not enough to me.

I expect a lot from this product, since it contains 97% snail extract, but I guess this is just a basic product without any significant effect.

Edit (28/9/2016)

In my opinion, the all-time favorite Nature Republic Aloe Vera 92% Soothing Gel easily beats this soothing gel. It gives the same effect, more soothing, and comes with a cheaper price.

I apologize if this post comes out more as a comparison than a review. I just want to give a good pictures/examples/comparisons for all of you readers out there.

Leave a Reply

