Review: Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence

Snail extract + Bee venom + cheap price = My skin savior?

(I’m afraid that this post is more of me fangirl-ing over this product rather than reviewing it)

A bit of a story here. My skin is freaking hard to please. Products I’ve tried either broke me out, or didn’t make any difference to my skin’s condition. Back then, my skin just recovered after terrible irritation and peeling after using retinoid without any understanding of the product.

I’ve been eyeing this essence for a while. An essence with a price that won’t make a drastic change in your wallet is basically a huge temptation to me; a beauty products’ enthusiast, yet also a broke student. So, I tried this essence without any big hope. But, the result went beyond my expectation, I decided to buy a second bottle. I’ve never did that before to other products, except for Nature Republic’s Aloe Vera 92% Soothing Gel. I think that explains enough my love for this essence.

This essence’s main ingredient is the snail extract and the bee venom. Just when you thought that the ingredient couldn’t be weirder than snail extract, BAM! Comes the bee venom.

For snail extract, I’ve explained a bit about it at my review for Secret Key Snail 97 Soothing Gel. But, for the bee venom, I will explain it a bit here.

According to my research (at Google), bee venom has been used actually in some beauty treatments, mainly for anti-aging. It is believed that by using bee venom, our skin will be tricked to think that it has been stung, and started to produce collagen and other chemicals, such as elastin.

For beauty enthusiasts out there who are concerned with how the company gets the bee venom, no need to worry. It is not collected from a cruel method that resulted in the death of poor bees. The bees are placed on top of a glass pane, and then, a weak electrical current is being run. The startled bees will ‘sting’ the glass pane’s surface, but their stingers will still remain. I apologize if my explanations are not that clear for you. The main point is, the bee venom is collected in a not-cruel way for the bees, so there’s no need to worry. Yey for the safety of the bees!

Personally, I’m not grossed out with the fact that this product uses snail extract and bee venom. As long as the products work, I am fine with it.

Enough with the long introduction, let’s get into the actual thing: the review of the product.

What is This Product?

Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence is an essence from a Korean brand “Benton”. It uses snail extract and bee venom as its main ingredient, along with other natural extracts. It claims to help improve ‘rough and damaged’ skin. It is also supposed to give cooling effect, moisturize, skin-lifting effect, brighten, and remove wrinkles. It is suitable for all skin, including sensitive and troubled ones.

Appearance

The product comes with a recycled cardboard box. There’s a paragraph in English written under the product’s name, as a description of the product. There’s also ingredients list at the side, with product’s warning underneath it. I’m quite glad with the fact that Benton also listed the ingredient list in English. Other than that, there’s  some writings in Korean, along with a hologram sticker and bar code.

It comes in a 60 ml brown bottle with a pump. There’s also the same description on the bottle. The old bottles are clear, while the new ones are doff/matte. I personally like the new one more. It looks classier and better.

20160926_185250
Comparison of old (left) and new (right) bottle

Ingredients

Snail Secretion Filtrate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Glycerin, Arbutin, Human Oligopeptide-1, Bee Venom, Plantago Asiatica Extract, Diospyros Kaki Leaf Extract, Salix Arba (Willow) Bark Extract, Ulmus campestris (Elm) Extract, Bacillus Ferment, Azelaic Acid, Althaea Rosea Flower Extract, Aloe barbadensis leaf extract, Beta-Glucan, Betaine, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Cross Polymer, Adenosine, Panthenol, Allantoin, Pentylene Glycol, Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Usnea Barbata (Lichen) Extract, Pulsatilla Koreana Extract, Arginine

CosDNA analysis here. So far, the product’s ingredients are good. Most of the ingredients are extracts from plants and other natural ingredients. And, instead of using water, Benton used Snail Secretion Filtrate as its filler. To be honest, I don’t know if all of these natural extracts listed on the ingredients give meaningful effects to my skin, but it’s nice to know that Benton use natural ingredients instead of chemical.

There’s a problem in here, though. Since Benton decided to make the ingredients as natural as possible, the preservative that they used are not that good. There’s a risk that the product inside get spoiled easily. You should not keep the product for too long and always keep it out of drastic temperature change and direct, harsh sunlight.

Performance

The essence has water-y gel texture. It doesn’t have any scent. Just a single pump is usually enough for my whole face. So, a small 60 ml bottle can last about 3 months for me.

Left: Essence dispensed from a single pump | Right: After being smoothed on

I use this product after my toner, followed with my moisturizer. But, in the morning, this essence is enough to moisturize my face. This essence is really fast-absorbing, I don’t need to wait to apply my next product.

At first, I didn’t notice any significant change on my face. Then, my friends started to say that my face is getting brighter. I finally noticed that my face didn’t get pimples that often anymore, except when it’s near ‘that’ time (women will understand ;_;) When I do have pimple(s), the pimple isn’t that painful and will be gone within 1-3 days. This essence also helps with lightening acne scars on my face (mostly cheek).

During my university’s holiday, I returned to my hometown. My whole family (including aunts, uncles, cousins) was surprised seeing my face’s condition now. They said that my face is much better compared to back then. I never received this much of compliment for my face’s condition before :’) My cousin even decided to also buy this essence, seeing its effect on my face.

As for the skin-lifting and removing wrinkles, I don’t notice them. Well,  I’m still young, so there’s no major wrinkles on my face anyway. My skin is also not sagging yet.

Conclusion

Pro(s):

  • Repairing my skin condition
  • Brightening
  • Moisturizing enough in the day
  • Suitable for sensitive and troubled skincare
  • Doesn’t break me out
  • Reasonable price; small amount is enough for my face (economic)
  • Pump bottle (easy to dispense)

Neutral(s):

  • Anti-aging and skin-lifting effect
  • Ingredients choke-full of natural extracts

Con(s):

  • Easily spoiled (but this is never a problem for me, though)

I love this product sooo much and it’s a holy grail for me. I probably won’t buy any other products, except when this essence is out of stock and/or discontinued. It changes my skin condition so much (to a better one, of course) and did as it mostly claimed on my face. I even decided to buy the ‘Benton Snail Bee High Content Steam Cream’!

Leave a Reply

