Review: Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner

One of Etude House’s best-selling product and used to be a hype to Korean beauty products enthusiasts. Many people still recommend this toner to people who are just introduced to Korean beauty products.

With two, big volumes available (250 ml and 500 ml) and decent price, I can see why people are tempted to buy this toner, other than the eye-catching ten effects printed obviously at the very front of the packaging.

Well, I have finished the bottle. And, what do I think about this toner? Just check the review below.

Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner (It’s not a typo. That’s how they spell it) is a refreshing toner decided to care for your pore problems. It comes with a catchy “I’m the Wonder Woman for your Pores, More Powerful!” tagline.  It has “10 in 1 Ultra Pore Solution”, compared to 7 in 1 from the old products, hence the “More Powerful!” part of the tagline.

Toners are often forgotten by people, but they do have important roles. Toners are used to balance your skin’s pH after washing it, cleans up any residue and dirt that still remains, shrinks your pore, and prep your skin for the next steps of your skincare.

I was in need of a toner, but not the hydrating kind of toner. And, finding it was hard, when mostly Korean toners are the hydrating one (Or it was just my bad luck back then?) So, I saw this toner and think “I should just try this toner, it won’t hurt. It’s also cheap.” And also, the ten effects. Dude. I was curious, of course.


What is this Product?

Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner is  toner, promised to treat mainly pore problems of your skin. It claims to have 10 effects in 1 bottle. Here are the 10 effects promised by this product:

eh-wp-freshner

Appearance

The toner comes inside a blue and clear plastic box. There’s the “10 in 1 Ultra Pore Solution” printed right at the front of the box. At one side, there’s a cute cartoon graphic about the product’s function and the 10-in-1 effects (that’s what I caught, at least). At the back of the box, there’s a description and direction in Hangul. While at another side, there’s another graphic in Korean and an English short description along with its list of ingredient.

Appearance of Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner's box.

The bottle also has the similar light blue color. The 250 ml bottle’s cap is the flip-cap one. There are some sort of cartoon-ish indicator at the side, where it shows that your blackhead will be gone, when the toner is all used up.

Appearance of Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner's bottle

Ingredients

Water, Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Betaine, Mentha Arvensis Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Fruit/Leaf extract, Saccharum Officinarum (sugar cane) extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (lemon) fruit extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (orange) fruit extract, Chamaecyparis Obtusa water, Ginkgo Biloba leaf extract, Acer Saccharum (sugar maple) extract, Gentiana Lutea root extract, Artemisia Absinthium extract, Arnica Montana flower extract, Achillea Millefolium extract, Glycereth-26, Glycerin, Eithylhexylglycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Acetic Acid, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol

CosDNA analysis here. As usual, as long as there are no harmful ingredient and/or chemicals inside, I am not alarmed. Two ingredients, Achillea Millefolium (yarrow) extract and Phenoxyethanol, respectively have the safety rate of 3 and 4, though. Phenoxyethanol is the preservative used for this product.

Another thing to note is the high amount of alcohol on this toner. For you beauties out there who are concerned with alcohol inside your products and/or sensitive to alcohol, you might need to watch out.

Performance

The toner is like u20160815_164546sual toner; very water-y. It looks clear, but has a sliiight bluish tint to it in large amount. The alcohol smell is very strong in this product. But, it is not the rubbing alcohol smell to me. Instead, it smells like the alcohol from fermented foods, especially fruits. I usually pour this to my cotton pad (forgot to take the picture, I’m sorry ;_;). The amount may vary, but usually the size of a coin.

I used this toner right after I cleanse my face with my cleanser. After that, I followed it with my skincare routine (do you want me to make a post about my skincare routine? Comment if you do!). There’s a light cooling sensation when I used this toner.

Now, with the whole bottle finally finished, I dare to say that there are no significant changes on my skin. I can only feel four effects from the promised ten effects. These effects are: remove skin surface’s dead skin cells, cleanse pore insides with cooling effect, deep cleanse pores, moisturize inside and outside of skin.

The toner helps me to clean any dirts left on my face after cleansing. I guess it gives some sort of pore-care? Since when I use this product, my pores will feel slightly smoother, so I can postpone scrubbing my face if I’m too lazy/busy for it. From the ten effects of this product. My skin will be moisturized, just a tiiiiiiny bit, after using this toner. For the other effects, sadly, I don’t notice them.

Conclusion

Pro(s):

  • The bottle is sturdy
  • Pore-care
  • Slightly moisturizing
  • Help in removing residual dirt from skin
  • Reasonable price
  • Large amount

Con(s):

  • This product promises too much (ten effects)
  • No significant and/or drastic effects
  • Out of ten promised effects, I can only see/feel four of them

This product is a ‘meh’ for me. Sure, it gives some sort of pore-care and help to remove any remaining dirt on my face, but other toners can do that. Other than the reasonable price accompanied with its large amount, I would probably not repurchase this product.

Leave a Reply

