Review: Innisfree Sea Salt Cleansing Water

I am finally back to writing on WordPress! After real life has been kicking my ass and dragging me to hell. *Okay, I am being too much. Just stop, Silvia.* Ehem, anyway, here is my first review in 2017. I am reviewing another cleansing water, and this time it is from Innisfree Sea Salt Cleansing Line – Innisfree Sea Salt Cleansing Water.

I finished my bottle of Corine de Farme Purity Micellar Water (you can read the review here; my very first review!) and decided to try a cleansing water from Innisfree.

Actually, I was planning to try the other cleansing water from Innisfree – Innisfree Green Tea Cleansing Water. Unfortunately, the online shop where I usually bought my cosmetics told me that they only have one left, and the cap is broken. But, they have this one in stock. So, I decided to try this one.


What is This?

Innisfree Sea Salt Cleansing Water is a cleansing water from the Korean brand Innisfree. Innisfree is a sister company (sort of) of Etude House; both of them are under AmorePacific. Innisfree is known for their use of natural, organic, and Korean-origin ingredients. This one is part of their “Sea Salt” line, which consists of Body Oil Scrub, three variants of facial cleanser, and this cleansing water.

If you Google for an information of these products, you will often find the products from the “Jeju Lava Seawater” line, which is another line for variants of skincare products. So, they are different.

The product description reads as:

“This cleansing water, formulated with sea salt extracts, helps completely remove makeup while keeping the skin fresh and soft.”


Appearance

This cleansing water comes in a clear plastic bottle without any box (I don’t know if this is mine only or it is that way from Innisfree). Every “Sea Salt” line products use white and light blue combination. I really like it, since it gives off a clean and refreshing feeling.

There is a design of… To be honest, I don’t know. I get this design as air bubble. Or probably, it depicts the grains of sea salt. The design is in light blue color.

20170519_114500

The bottle uses reversed pump where you can just easily place your cotton pads or balls on top of it, press, and the product is dispensed. But, this kind of pump makes it hard to decant the product to smaller bottles for travelling, especially since the bottle is really huge and there is no way you would bring the entire bottle during your travel.


 Ingredients

Water, PEG-6 caprylic/capric glycerides, Dipropylene glycol, Propanediol, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Opuntia Coccinellifera Fruit Extract, Camellia Japonica Leaf Extract, Citrus Unshiu Peel Extract, Orchid, Sea Salt Extract, Ulmus Davidiana Root Extract, Amaranthus Caudatus Seed Extract, Ficus Carica Fruit Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Hydrogenated lecithin, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Citrate, Ethylhexylglycerin, 1, 2-Hexanediol, Citric Acid, Ceramide NP, Mineral Salts, Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol.

CosDNA analysis here. Surprisingly, even though the main ingredient of this product should be the sea salt, it is not on the top list. There are also lots of plants extract in the ingredients’ list. The only ingredient with high safety rate (the higher the number, the more dangerous it is) is Phenoxyethanol, the preservative for this ingredient.


Performance

This product has the same texture as other cleansing waters: runny and clear, nothing fancy. It has a strong flowery smell that is similar to typical Korean beauty products (those of you who often buy Korean beauty products, especially ones from Etude House and Innisfree will surely understand). But it doesn’t linger on your skin, though.

20170519_113550
After used to remove daily-wear makeup (powder and eyebrow) and dirt from my face

I used this product by dispensing it onto a cotton pad and swipe it all over my face. I usually use this cleansing water after going outside for campus or other activities and the second-step of my makeup removal process.

First of all, this product does not break me out. This is an achievement for my sensitive face already. Secondly, this cleansing water surely removes any dirt and dust on my face if I use it after going out. But, I find the cleansing power, even for such easy task, underwhelming. I need to use more power, pressure, and amount of product to cleanse well.

Then, for the second-step of my makeup removal process. If I wear medium-heavy makeup on that day, I cleanse in three steps:

  1. Makeup remover using Skinfood
  2. Removing any leftover residue and oiliness using cleansing water
  3. Wash my face with my facial cleanser
Testing the cleansing water to remove makeup

For the second step, I understand that cleansing waters are not as strong as dedicated makeup removers. It is understandable if you cannot use this to remove eye and waterproof makeup well. But, this cleansing water is also a ‘meh’ for removing makeup because compared to my past cleansing water, it is lacking.

Oh yeah, NEVER EVER use this product near your eyes. (Actually, cleansing waters are not dedicated for eye makeup remover and I bet all of you know it already. It is just me being too stupid, but oh well) I tried to use this to remove my eye makeup once. First, my mascara did not budge at all. Second, it stung my eyes terribly. My eyes became red because of that. So yeah, please don’t torture your own eyeballs.


Conclusion

All in all, even though this product cleanses quite well, but I still find it to be underwhelming, especially when compared to the cleansing water I have used in the past. I don’t know if the problem lies with the cleansing water or my expectation is too high.

Pro(s):

  • Do not irritate my skin
  • Cleanse dirt and dust

Neutral(s):

  • Reversed-pump
  • Cleansing power
  • Strong fragrance may be a turn-off

Con(s):

  • Does not cleanse makeup well

Rating:

  1. NOPE. NOPE. NOPE.
  2. There is no big problem, but I find this still lacking…
  3. Meh.
  4. I quite like this product. Will continue to use this until I find something better.
  5. Silvia has found a Holy Grail product.

Thank you for reading this review. As always, feel free to comment and ask me. I will try to answer as quick and best as possible. If you haven’t noticed, I changed my writing format once again. Also, I started using a rating system for my reviews. Comment what do you think about my new writing format and rating system. As for the featured image, I am still finding the perfect ‘style’ for my pictures, so I’m still changing and experimenting (you can see clearly that I SUCK at taking pictures…)

I really apologize for being inactive for so long (-_-” ) Hopefully I will post more in this blog. May you all have a good day ^^

Leave a Reply

