Haul: May 2017

My very first beauty haul post… And pray to God it won’t be my last.

I have read and looked on so many beauty haul posts, either on social media or blogs. And, I always wanted to do the same thing –  buying lots of products at once, almost like we buy the whole store for ourselves. Alas, my financial condition (oh the life of poor college girl) cannot afford to do that ;_; (But one day, hopefully I will – Amen!)

I got the rare chance to do a sort-of haul since lots of my staple products are running out and I have been wanting to try out some new products (Maybe I should write a skincare routine post in the future?). But in the future, the chance like this won’t probably come again (Hahaha…). In this haul, you will get a glimpse of my usual products and new products I am going to try in order to tackle my current skin problems.


Overall Look

 

May 2017 Haul
Choosing red as the background is DEFINITELY NOT the wisest decision I’ve ever made.

Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence (2015 Edition)

 

Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence (2015 Edition)
The sunscreen from Indonesia comes from official distributor – KAO Indonesia (Hence the Indonesian title and such). Strangely, I never find this product at any drugstores or marts.

This is already my second tube and I have no plan to use any other sunscreens soon. This sunscreen is just that good. This sunscreen absorbs fast, does not break me out, and leaves no white cast. It is not water and sweat-proof, though.

But, I heard that their 2017 edition (with cooler packaging design, dayum) is formulated to be more water and sweat-resistant. The reason I don’t immediately buy the newest edition is because sunscreens often break me out and my skin is in a terrible condition right now, so I don’t want to play around too much by trying the one with new formulation. Maybe I will try them in the future (I have a thing for blue and cool packaging design, so the new packaging is clearly seducing to me).

Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence (2017)
The new packaging looks cool and refreshing; it’s seriously tempting me to buy it.

Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence

May 2017 - Benton Essence.jpg

I don’t wanna say too much about this essence, since I’ve reviewed it already. This is either my fourth or fifth bottle already. Apparently, all my cousins who’ve tried this essence like it, too. I have no plan to try switch this for another essence –  not until my skin’s condition become better, at least.


Benton Aloe Propolis Soothing Gel

This soothing gel has received positive reviews from other beauty bloggers, contain two of my skin’s favorite ingredients (aloe and propolis) and Benton products never disappoint me so far. I guess there’s no harm in trying this gel. This is also my first step of commitment to buy sample or travel-sized products first before buying the full-sized (This is probably just me trying to make a logical reason). I am planning to use this as day moisturizer and hope that this soothing gel does not break me out or irritate my skin.


COSRX BHA Blackhead Power Liquid

May 2017 - COSR BHA Liquid.jpg
I have faith in you, COSRX.

A top and widely-raved product from COSRX. I used to have terrible blackheads on my nose and chin, but it worsened thanks to COSRX AHA/BHA Clarifying Treatment Toner. I won’t give up on COSRX products, since I have tried their cleanser and it works fine for me. Hopefully, this time COSRX won’t disappoint me.


Nubian Heritage African Black Soap

May 2017 - Nubian Heritage ABS.jpg

First, I have a thing for anything unusually black-colored things (charcoal buns, black yogurt, you name it), not excluding facial cleanser. Second, this product is actually quite well-known, but it is not discussed or reviewed around too much by others. Some reviewers claimed that this product wonderfully heal their acne and zits, which is why I decided to buy this soap. Let’s see if the good reviews are true.


Thayer’s Alcohol-Free Unscented Witch Hazel Toner (with Aloe Vera)

May 2017 - Thayers Unscented Witch Hazel.jpg

Are western products trying to compete with Asian products for having the longest name? Anyway, I have tried and emptied the Rose variant already. I buy the unscented one because although I liked the scent of Rose, I got sick of it after having to wear it for more than six months.

The toner doesn’t bring that much effects on my skin, but it also doesn’t break me out; That’s why I keep on using it. I use this toner right after cleansing, using a cotton pad to apply. It can be used in multiple ways, actually. You can use it as facial spritz (also hydrating toner), DIY sheet masks, and I heard witch hazel is also good for bug bites and itches.


I ‘only’ buy six products in total, but I feel like my bank account is being tortured in Hell already. Hopefully, the products I buy specifically to tackle my acne and blackhead problems (looking at you, Nubian Heritage and COSRX) work well and don’t irritate and break my skin out even further.

And, WOW – TWO posts in ONE month, really? I am amazed by myself. I will try to keep this up and be more active in the future. As always, do not hesitate to ask and comment me, I will try to give my best answer, as soon as possible ^^

XOXO,

Silvia

 

Leave a Reply

